A site for medical students - Practical,Theory,Osce Notes

Structure and Synthesis of Dopamine

Dopamine is a monoamine neurotransmitter that is synthesized in the brain and other parts of the body. It is produced from the amino acid tyrosine through a series of enzymatic reactions.

The structure of dopamine consists of a catechol group, which includes two adjacent hydroxyl groups (OH) attached to a benzene ring, and an amine group (-NH2) attached to a carbon chain. The chemical formula for dopamine is C8H11NO2.

The synthesis of dopamine begins with the amino acid tyrosine, which is taken up by cells and converted to L-dihydroxyphenylalanine (L-DOPA) by the enzyme tyrosine hydroxylase. L-DOPA is then converted to dopamine by the enzyme DOPA decarboxylase, which removes a carboxyl group (-COOH) to form the amine group of dopamine.

Dopamine is primarily synthesized in neurons of the substantia nigra and ventral tegmental area, which are part of the mesocorticolimbic and nigrostriatal dopaminergic pathways. These pathways play a key role in the regulation of movement, reward, motivation, and mood. Dopamine can also be produced in other parts of the body, such as the adrenal glands.

After its release from neurons, dopamine can be reuptaken into the presynaptic terminal through dopamine transporters, or metabolized by enzymes such as monoamine oxidase and catechol-O-methyl transferase. These mechanisms help to regulate the duration and intensity of dopaminergic signaling in the brain.