A site for medical students - Practical,Theory,Osce Notes

What are the centers for Gaze Movement?

1.Lateral gaze center  is Frontal eyefield (FEF)
Lateral gaze center is Frontal eyefield (FEF) that is situated in area 8 the fibers descend through the internal capsule crosses to opposite side reaches brainstem the para-abducent nucleus of pons through abducent nerve  reaches the  lateral rectus to opposite side.
From para-abducent nucleus  which is the pontine lateral gaze center fibers passes through medial longitudinal fasciculus (MLF) to the  medial rectus nucleus of same side.
Stimulation of FEF result in conjugate gaze to opposite side.
Paralytic or destructive lesion of FEF result in Lateral gaze palsy to opposite side. Both eyes turn to same side.
Frontal eye field also controls saccadic movement to opposite side
Both eye field control vertical saccadic movement. This has regulatory effects on LPS. Stimulation of contraction of LPS resulting in opening of eye and dilatation of pupil.
2.Occipital gaze center area 18-19
Occipital gaze center area 18-19 cortico-fugal fibers passes through the optic radiation - post, limb of internal capsule - cerebral peduncle to 3rd nucleus and MLF.
Occipital gaze center  control the pursuit movement  occipital gaze center of one side control pursuit movement to the opposite side and same side.
Both occipital gaze centers together control vertical pursuit movement
3.Interstitial nucleus of cajal
It is situated at the  level of Superior  Colliculus it control the vertical gaze
4.Central nucleus of perlia is situated  in the mid-brain is the center for convergence
5.Pontine lateral gaze center is close to 6th cranial nerve nuclei, send impulses to ipsilateral  lateral rectus nuclei and contralateral  Medial rectus nuclei through MLF
Stimulation produce lateral gaze to same side
Destruction produce lateral gaze to opposite side.